Tianjin Explosion a Day of Infamy for Firefighters Everywhere

New video of the MASSIVE explosion is emerging today.  It is reported that the original fire concerned a container of calcium carbide.  In what can only be a grave misunderstanding by firefighters, they began to douse the calcium carbide with water triggering the massive explosion that likely incinerated dozens of firefighters at the scene.

When calcium carbide is mixed with water it creates acetylene gas.  When that is mixed with air and ignited, a massive explosion will ensue.  For some reason nobody communicated what the chemicals were with the fire crews both ahead of time and during the accident, leading to the devastating catastrophe.  In other words, the firefighters sealed their own fate.

A text exchange between firefighters captures the heartbreaking moments after the explosions (translated):

Fireman: Are you there, bro?

Friend: I’m here. What’s wrong?

Fireman: I can’t get any calls out.

… Gang Zhi… he’s gone. He sacrificed himself. He’s dead.

Friend: What the cow are you talking about.

Where are you.

Fireman: I’m in the truck, on my way to soup cry (autocorrect). Tanggu District.

Friend: You call me right now. You hear me.

Fireman: I’m already in my suit, no one else has a phone.

Friend: Then you’ll call me first thing in the morning. Got it?

Fireman: … if I don’t come back, you’ll take care of my dad, won’t you?

… and tell my mom deceased I loved her.

Friend: … I got your dad, bro. Don’t worry about him.

You worry about yourself.

A text exchange between

Leave a Reply

